jump to navigation

Oh Silverlight, how I hate thee so! August 23, 2011

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m getting rather annoyed by Microsoft Silverlight.

Apparently it’s a dead product within Microsoft. But they forced Netflix into using it and I must say it’s even WORSE than Netflix’s Flash based player of old.

And now that they’re quietly sweeping it under the rug I hear they are doing so because of HTML 5’s video capability. That would be fine and dandy except there are very few fully HTML 5 compliant browsers out there. Sure, Firefox supports a limited set at the moment.

So please, please, speed the development on HTML 5 compliant browsers and to Netflix, get your web site coded up for HTML 5 and be done with that CPU hog Silverlight. It should be called Red Light because that is the color I see when your player stutters along.

Comments»

1. The Good Greatsby - August 25, 2011

It’s one of my absolute pet peeves when you get forced to use crap software and they make it difficult to get out of it even though they know it’s crap.

2. deedeemao - July 16, 2013

I eliminated Adobe and started using a freeware program so that I didn’t have to deal with updates every other day. so then Windows sneaks in this BS Silverlight program that I didn’t need an now IT needs to be updated every day.

A minor irritation you say? How about the day it crashed my browse in the middle of an important project?

I was happy with windows XP, Then windows had to “Improve” it and come u0w with vista and 7 and now they’ve “Improved’ that and come up with a system that sucks so bad that even one of their so-called improvements will be an improvement.

Hey I get it that microsuck needs to make money by creating and selling new systems but how about giving me a simple basic system with optional add-ons amd allowing me to pay a monthly fee so as NOT to have things improved???

truthspew - July 16, 2013

Agree completely. Windows 8 in my opinion is horrid for a desktop or laptop. And even the mobile app – I got to play with the new Nokia windows phone a few weeks ago. My feelings on it – ick!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

