jump to navigation

DOMA Falls again May 31, 2012

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

The First Circuit Court of Appeals has declared Section 3 of the Federal DOMA Act to be unconstitutional. This is another nail in the coffin of that horrid law.

However there are other sections of the law for instance that allow states to deny recognition that still need to be taken on.

I’ve said it before but never formally here on the blog. DOMA as we know it will be defeated in late 2012 or early 2013. You can see the writing on the wall and I believe a large driver of this is repealing DADT that allows gay and lesbian soldiers to serve openly.

Once they could serve openly you knew it would only be a matter of time before they’d move to exercise one of the many benefits granted spouses of veterans and be denied because of DOMA.

This is real progress, something I never thought I would see in my lifetime.

If you think about it, President Obama’s legacy is clear. He has in fact been our fierce advocate. That he has done so in his first term, and that he openly supports marriage equality so close to the November elections, that is just icing on the cake.

I had a strong intuition that President Obama supported marriage equality, but was waiting for a politically opportune time to come out and say it. And I believe Question 1 in North Carolina was the tipping point so to speak.

It is likely that my generation will find ourselves as equal citizens at long last. That is completely remarkable.

But we owe a huge debt of gratitude to the likes of those who came before us, the likes luminaries of pre-Stonewall, the heroes who were cut down in their prime, it all contributed to get us where we are today some fifty years later.

Comments»

1. Urspor - May 31, 2012

I wish I could celebrate, but I have my reservations.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

