jump to navigation

My take on the ‘controversy’ of Dan Savage not acknowliding Frank Ocean’s coming out July 10, 2012

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

I really hadn’t intended on saying anything about this since I didn’t know who Frank Ocean was. I had to search on YouTube to be honest.

But now you’ve got people saying Dan Savage is racist because he didn’t mention it? It sounds a little ludicrous to me, that I had to lookup Frank Ocean myself.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy that Ocean has come out. It’s nice to see members of that genre coming out and makes me wish the likes of Queen Latifah would finally tell the world she’s a lesbian but I’ll take whatever I can.

Comments»

1. Urspo - July 10, 2012

I don’t know who Mr. Ocean is either.

2. nomadi - July 11, 2012

The whole “coming out” thing baffles me to some extent. I mean, unless the person in some way represents a negative influence to the gay community in a specific way, I think it’s a very personal matter. I don’t understand how some can justify “outing” people willy-nilly (so to speak) on one hand, and condemning others who, for example, secretly filmed his roommate having sex.
On the hand, pastors, priests and politicians who rouse the rabble against gay people or the movement, yes.. I think they are fair game for exposure.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

