jump to navigation

A fairly vicious thunderstorm rolls through Rhode Island July 18, 2012

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

Around 3:35PM I noticed it was getting mighty dark. So I turned on my amateur radio handheld and first hit the 162.400MHz National Weather Service. Yep, thunder or t-storm on the way.

Haven’t seen one like this in some time. Had about 45 minutes of lightning, thunder, and torrential rain. Scanning around the 2m amateur band and I heard that there was a tornado that touched down in Chepachet, RI.

That’s the other thing – the 2m band here is pretty quiet, until there’s something going on. Be it field day, or a storm, that’s when it gets cooking.

I caught a little video early on, a lightning strike:

Even the resident feline, Angie, is freaked out by it. I’ve always loved a good thunder storm. I remember back in the 1980’s I lived across from the Louisquisset golf course. Because of the elevation, that course got hit regularly. We’d just sit on the porch and watch.

The fact that nature can produce so much power just through friction of air molecules is amazing. Got to love static electricity.

Comments»

1. wondermann - July 19, 2012

Sounds calming… I like storms


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

