jump to navigation

RasPi First Boot October 19, 2012

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

After the trials and tribulations of stuffing the Debian Wheezy operating system image onto the SD card I finally got it to boot.


And it hit me – this is Debian – which means all I need now are a long Ethernet cord, got the keyboard and mouse on it already and the power – get this, the front of my Motorola Cable box has a USB port on it. So I plugged into that and lo and behold, it puts +5V and GND out! Yay!
And it got me to thinking. Right now I’ve only got an 8GB card in there. But people have used 32GB and 64GB cards. I can use RasPi for the wireless MESH I’m putting together. I’d have to get a USB hub so I can create a second network adapter but one of these little RasPi’s could be the SquidProxy and DansGuardian server. All solid state, nothing to really wear out. And it costs $35, with the external net adapter it goes to maybe $55. That isn’t bad – < $100 and you can just flash the whole thing on an SD card.
Very cool!

 

Comments»

1. Who cares - October 22, 2012

If you haven’t seen the “HackRF Jawbreaker” yet, google it.

truthspew - October 22, 2012

Wow – pricepoint around $300 too. That’s pretty sweet for a full up transceiver.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

