jump to navigation

One misconception about Catholics and Divorce March 30, 2009

Posted by truthspew in religion.
trackback

One of the things brought up at the forum last Friday evening was that a Catholic once married can divorce but cannot re-marry in the church.

I’m here to dispel that argument.

There is a thing called an annulment. An annulment is usually granted to couples with no kids, etc. In essence it acknowledges a failed union. It’s also incredibly difficult to obtain one.

Back after my mother had passed away my father met Peggy. At first I wasn’t sure how to relate to Peggy but she turned out to be just what my father needed, someone to kick his ass on a regular basis for his boneheaded views. I still miss her since she died several years ago.

Anyhow their marriage was at first a civil ceremony. But one day I’m driving by Saint Anthony’s Church in North Providence, RI and I see my dads name on the donor board. Knowing my father, he’s not one to give significant chunks to churches so I got home and called him.

Turns out it was a $10,000 donation to grease the way for Peggy’s annulment from her former husband. The clutch is, there were two children that resulted from that marriage.

So yes, you can divorce and remarry in the Catholic church. Just be prepared to spend at a minimum about $15,000.

Comments»

1. Mark in DE - March 31, 2009

Not to offend any Catholic readers, but I find this so unfair. If you have money you can pretty much get whatever you want, even within a rule-heavy religious like Catholicism. But the poor get only the legal justice and religious concessions they can afford.

2. tornwordo - April 1, 2009

Now I want to ask my mom how much she paid! After my dad left her she remarried two years later in a Catholic church. She got the annulment and I often joke that it was the church that made me a bastard.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

