Voter ID: Sometimes I just can’t help myself

So I heard the news today that AG Holder is calling the Voter ID law in Texas a poll tax. And I also saw that DOJ is going after Florida for it’s voter roll purges.

So it prompted me to send the following to Speaker Gordon Fox and Senate President M. Theresa Paiva-Weed, as well as to Rep. Michael Tarro and Sen. Paul Jabour in RI:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/31/florida-voter-purge-doj-voting-rights-act_n_1726295.html?1343779694&ncid=edlinkusaolp00000009#slide=more232477

And in other news, AG Holder calls Texas Voter ID law a poll tax. And here in RI you geniuses in the legislature by enacting our Voter ID law, you actually opened up an avenue for fraud to occur. I’ll let you read the act of course but it’s because you can use a HEALTH CLUB ID card as proof. That is easily spoofed.

But what you need to know is that since 2008, RI has used a Central Voter Registration Database. You’ve probably purchased a copy for your own uses in elections. But the point I’m making is that the database exposed what little fraud there was in RI. It’s time to take a look at the Voter ID Act here and get rid of it. I find it highly abhorrent since it’s only real purpose, in my view, is to disenfranchise voters. And I’m surprised it made it through our legislature.

I can’t help myself but to point out idiocy wherever I see it. Be it in the laws of the city, state or federal governments, or the general ineptitude of legislators, I love hitting them where it hurts.

Leave a Reply

