jump to navigation

TMI Thursday now? August 2, 2012

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

Got this from Patently Queer who got it from Just a Jeep Guy. I’m kind of happy to see the TMI theme returning – if only on a Thursday this time. And the questions don’t seem quite as inane so I’m game to participate.

DEATH AND DYING

How would you like to die? How don’t you want to die?

I’d like to die a very old man of 175 years, and I’d like my heart to just stop while I’m sleeping. You think I’m kidding about the 175 years – the technology isn’t just marching along anymore, it’s seriously speeding. So much so that Ray Kurzweil prophesies that by 2045 the collective intelligence of humans and machines will increase a billion fold. That’s logarithmic baby! I think he might be off by 20 or so years, we’ll see it happen sooner.

I don’t want to die of cancer, ALS, etc. I’ve seen what those two do to people {shudder}.

Do you want to go before or after your spouse?

I don’t want to go before him, but it’s likely as I’m 8 years, 8 months and 8 days older. And we both come from fairly long lived people. So chances are we’ll be in our 80′s before the bucket kicking starts.

Have you planned your wake or funeral
Sort of.

How do you want your body laid to rest?

I want to be cremated and have left firm instructions to the effect. And my ashes, they’re to be transported to Italy and spread there.

What do you think happens to you after you die?

You rot. Well actually you first get eaten from the inside out by the helpful flora in our gut. Then the critters get at you until there’s nothing left but bleached bone and even that degrades over time.

But seriously – nothing other than a natural process happens after you die. There’s no afterlife, no white light, no nothing. When the brain dies, everything dies with it.

Bonus Question

If you died today but could be frozen and brought back in 100 years, would you?

Look at my answer to the question on How would you like to die. Of course the technology in a hundred years would be able to cure whatever you may have died from. So sure, Freeze a jolly good fellow!

And if you ever want to watch a good movie about someone who was ‘frozen’ Woodie Allen’s “Sleeper” is dated, but has it’s funny moments.

Comments»

1. Cubby - August 2, 2012

Great answers :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

