jump to navigation

Power Outage August 8, 2012

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

So around 1:30PM the power cut out completely. We’ve had pretty reliable power here, storms come and go and the power stays on.

Well today it was a failure of what looks to me like a fusible link that couples the 480VAC service down to the transformer and 125VAC service.

Didn’t hear it go off as I had headphones on with music playing. But I’m told it made a huge bang. And when I got out to see it, the thing was smoldering away.

Even the Providence Fire Department showed up. They cordoned off a section near the pole not knowing what happened. They also called National Grid. Plus I called and I know a few neighbors called.

So I showered and left the house. Came back two hours later and the power was back on. Looked at the pole and a brand new link was on the pole. But now I know how power flows. It comes in from the south for us.

It’s funny how power failure can kind of give you insights into how it all works.

Comments»

1. Urspo - August 9, 2012

indeed !

2. wondermann - August 9, 2012

I agree


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

