My Raspberry Pi has arrived

So I checked the mail today and there was a little box from Allied Electronics. What could it be?

Opened it up and there it was, the Raspberry Pi Model B. The different between the Model A and B is that the latter has dual USB ports.

Raspberry Pi Board

It’s a wild little platform! It’s name was derived as follows:

First – a lot of computers in UK were named after fruit, in fact computers and music players in the U.S. are made by Apple. So they chose the name Raspberry.

The Pi part is a morph of Python which is the programming language it understands.

I’ve got to order an SD card with decent capacity for it, I can get a 32GB for $18.99 – not bad!

I do have a 2GB SD card in my camera that I could wipe and replace. I also have an 8GB micro SD in my wallet and I have the adapter for full size so maybe I’ll use that in the interim.

But it’s finally here. It will probably see light sometimes this week. Been kind of busy.

But the Raspberry Pi specs:

Broadcom BCM2835 SoC
ARM1176JZF-S 700 MHz emulated
Dual USB and 10/100 Ethernet
HDMI Out supports 1080p
RCA Composite Out

Pretty wild little computer.

One thought on “My Raspberry Pi has arrived

Leave a Reply

