Saturday 9 – Happy Holidays

Granted it’s not Saturday but a few days later. My first chance to answer these as I got it from Patently Queer who got it from Rejected Reality.

So I’ll participate – granted it’s three days late this time around. I will add Rejected Reality to my RSS feeds so I’ll get notices in the future.

 

Saturday 9 – Happy Holidays

  1. Some children are reluctant to climb into Jolly Old St. Nick’s lap. Did you enjoy the tradition or were you shy? Or did you by pass it altogether — either because you wrote him a letter or because your family didn’t celebrate Christmas?
  2. I have a photo – I’d scan it in but I’m too lazy to do so. In it I’m maybe 2 or 3 years old. And I’m in Santa’s lap bawling. Of course Santa was my grandfather in that photo. Interestingly both my grandfather and grandmother worked for Ann & Hope – the template for believe it or not Wal-Mart. He was director of Security, my grandmother managed the softgoods department in the stores. Even my aunt worked in the back office there. So that Christmas my grandfather decided he’d play Santa.

  3. Are you currently on the Naughty or Nice list? How did you get there? 
  4. Well, mostly nice if thought crimes don’t count. For example, this evening I had a rather brilliant Machiavellian/Mediccian in that it’s a classic Sicilian move and that the ends would in fact justify the means. It was an idea that would have a positive effect on the family while completely neutralizing an opposing force within the family. At first I thought maybe it would be nice if that opposition was dead, but then I further pondered that murder is pretty nasty. Instead I’ll just use existing institutions to do my bidding. It’s pretty easy to do if you’re willing to accept a small amount of risk, not only that it’s great fun and I have used the police and judiciary in the past to do effectively the same thing.

    So based on the above – I’d say strongly naughty!

  5. Did you ship any gifts to friends and family this year? If so, which one traveled the farthest?/li>

    To family – about 700 miles away in North Carolina.

  6. Did you buy yourself a gift this year? /li>

    No I didn’t do so. Oh wait, books on Amazon Kindle – got a few page turners, one on Information Theory, another on Game Theory and a Calculus review. Yeah, I’m masochistic that way.

  7. What’s your favorite holiday-themed movie?
  8. Scrooged – we actually watched it. The two most amusing characters were David Johansen as the Ghost of Christmas Past, and Carol Kane as the Ghost of Christmas Present. Brilliant casting.

  9. Thinking of movies, Christmas is lucrative for Hollywood. Have you ever gone to a movie theater on Christmas Day? <
  10. Nope, can’t say I ever did.

  11. Have you ever suffered an embarrassing moment at the company Christmas party? 
  12. Nah – most of the time I avoid company Christmas parties. It’s bad enough I have to work with those people, doubly worse that I have to party with them. I’m very selective who I party with to be honest.

    But I’ve seen some rather interesting behavior at company parties and I know where the bodies (And skeleton bones) are buried.

  13. What’s your favorite beverage in cold weather? <
  14. Call me crazy – but Egg Nog with a shot of Brandy does the trick, especially if it’s Martha Stewart’s Egg Nog recipe.

  15. What will you remember most about 2012?
  16. I will remember 2012 as the year that incredible progress in gay rights happened.

2 thoughts on “Saturday 9 – Happy Holidays

  1. Great Answers. I agree with your assessment of the casting on Scrooged. Murray is LEGEND, but Carol Kane makes that movie for me… Look Frank, a toaster (BAM). I laugh myself silly at that scene.

Leave a Reply

