The Great Blizzard of 2013

So as you might be aware, we had ourselves a little blizzard here in the northeast. 2 to 3 feet of snow, 50 and 60 MPH winds, power outages, heating outages.

For example, our power ceased functioning at 7PM on Friday. We spent most of Saturday in a cold house but then our friends power came on so we’re staying with them.

And here we are three days out and no electric power. This means I’m going to rip National Grid a new one.

For example here’s something to ponder. I know Verizon’s copper and fiber are up and running, so too Cox’s coax network. So explain to me how National Grid’s service is SO fragile yet the other services are up and running.

And then you have the nitwits saying it’d cost $400 Billion to bury all the wire in the U.S. So do it! Leave Verizon and Cox on the pole and bury every last bit of the electrical infrastructure. I mean, what’s on the poles now is over a hundred year old technology. It’s time we modernize.

Highways are all clear down to pavement and they’re still touching up here and there on I-95. Local roads are atrocious for example one street near where I live still has two foot deep snow on it, the street I live on has just a narrow little band plowed on it. It needs to be fixed – my city Councilor Bryan Principe is being proactive – there are bucket loaders and plows going around the area now cleaning up.

And BTW, I I get just a little money I have a mission in life  – to break National Grid into a million little pieces. And while I’m at it, I want to put shots across the bow of Verizon and Cox too. It’s good to have a mission.

3 thoughts on “The Great Blizzard of 2013

  1. I think you got it worse than we did in the western half of CT. We were out of power for a week after the Halloween snowstorm in 2011. This time no problem. Took us 7 hours to clear the snow out of our driveway and around the house. Our friends from Florida called to “check in” but I think it was to “rub it in”.

    1. Yeah, about 2 to 3 feet of snow in one storm. We don’t get these very often but when we do I note we get a little bit better at rebounding from the storm. That is, as long as it doesn’t involve National Grid.

Leave a Reply

