An addendum on the Great Blizzard of 2013

One thing that worked consistently throughout the ordeal was my Yaesu VX-7rb handheld transceiver. In fact I have it on right now, tuned to the N1JBC network on 449.225MHz based in North Providence, RI. I get a full scale (S9) signal from that repeater so it’s one of my hangouts.

Plus it’s accessible via Echolink. But I like using the radio more so than the Echolink app if only because the Echolink app gets interrupted by voice calls on the phone, text notifications, etc.

And the phone battery wasn’t quite up to the storm. I had to cut the phone off frequently. But I knew the battery pack on my radio was good for 6 hours of transmit so receive only went for quite a while.

 

Leave a Reply

