I finally realized what it is about reality programming that bothers me

It finally struck me, the reason I dislike reality television programming.

Reality programming caters to and celebrates mediocrity. It’s really that simple. I’ve in the past called it lowest common denominator programming but this is the refinement of that idea.

The celebration of mediocrity. We see it in our schools when just average students are given stars on their papers, or how parents think their kid is ‘special’. That’s mediocrity.

Esteem isn’t esteem when we celebrate it. It’s to be earned through learning and work.

My goodness, I’m starting to sound like a puritan!

 

3 thoughts on “I finally realized what it is about reality programming that bothers me

Leave a Reply

