Web Site Outages

So yesterday morning I tried accessing the United States Postal Service’s web site only to have it time out.

Today it’s Facebook.

I suspect there are denial of service attacks going on. It’s not Cox’s name resolution as an nslookup brings back the IP address 31.13.69.160 which if I look it up is registered to:

inetnum:        31.13.64.0 - 31.13.127.255
netname:        IE-FACEBOOK-20110418
descr:          Facebook Ireland Ltd
country:        IE
org:            ORG-FIL7-RIPE
admin-c:        RD4299-RIPE
tech-c:         RD4299-RIPE
status:         ALLOCATED PA
mnt-by:         RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
mnt-lower:      fb-neteng
mnt-routes:     fb-neteng
source:         RIPE #Filtered

Facebook Ireland? Really? That seems to me that the U.S. data center is experiencing some problems. 
And I tried it on my cell phone - get the same issue. I've got DNS lookup on the phone and it too points
to the same netblock.
Leave a Reply

