Older Laptop Repairs

I’ve kept two Dell XPS M140’s up and running for close to 8 years now. I see no reason to upgraded as yet as these computers still have life in them.

The other day the lamp on my LCD went. Ok – $133 got a brand new LCD with inverter and lamp 2 day expressed to the house. Only had to remove 18 screws, the hing cover and the frame around the screen to do it.

Then I had to salvage the cable from the old LCD – but I could not get it to plug into the new screen. That’s because the new screen has a shielding hood over the connector. So I just peeled off the shield on the plug and all as well.

Then put the 18 screws and the hing cover back on and voila ! I saved the old screen – it works. Just has no light. But here’s the thing, if you tear into it I can remove the inverter and lamp and maybe replace with an EL panel or LED’s and then use it on a project.

I did note that the hinges on the screen – the left hinge is cracked. So I ordered a new set of hinges.

Leave a Reply

