Remember I said I was getting serious about my Raspberry Pi

Well, here we go. First off I didn’t feel like spending $25 or $30 on a 100 foot Ethernet cable. But I had limited USB ports on it so I bought one of these. It was $8:

Image Which when connected to the RaspBerry Pi:

And then hooked this up to it:

Which means I can now get on the net with the Raspberry Pi. I do note – the default Midori browser on the thing is S-L-O-W. And interestingly when I visit the Mozilla site it offers to download Firefox for Android.

And I should mention, shift the 2 key on the keyboard and you get ” instead of @. I think I have to check the keyboard map on it.

Did manage to do:

apt-get update

apt-get upgrade –fix-missing

So it’s all up to date now.

And now that I’ve got extra USB ports I can hang a huge drive on the thing.

But here’s how it’s hooked up. I found the USB hub power isn’t up to snuff. So I’ve got it wired as so:

Power-in –> USB Hub

Power-in –> Raspberry Pi

USB out to USB hub

Keyboard and Alfa net plugged into USB hub.

And it all works.

2 thoughts on “Remember I said I was getting serious about my Raspberry Pi

Leave a Reply

