Gut bacteria key to weight loss

This article is very interesting. As they identify the things that help – I’ve already integrated a lot of it into our diet without even reading the article first.

They posit that our gut bacteria aren’t happy. They also state that people in the developing world have a lower prevalence of allergies, asthma, diabetes, etc.

I’m going to hazard a theory here. I think our over-use of antibiotics is to blame. Anti-biotics aren’t very selective; they’re rather a shotgun approach. What I mean is in addition to killing the disease, it also ravages the bacteria in our gut. It’s why you sort of get the shits when you’re on antibiotics.

And I’ve had more courses of treatment with antibiotics than I can count. Started when I was a kid and right up to a few years back when the inner ear thing happened.

The article does say cruciferous, legumes, garlic, onions, etc. are all great for gut bacteria. So too banana, asparagus, apples, etc. But the biggie is fermented foods – like the pickles I recently made au natural – no preservatives and fermented. I do want to try fermented sauerkraut too. Another thing I eat a lot of is pro-biotic yogurt. Try to restore the balance.

More on the fermented stuff – the book that turned me on to it was Michael Pollan’s “Cooked”. That got me watching Sandor Katz on YouTube. And my first crack – pickles. They’re a little soft as I need better tea to counter the softening. But they taste awesome. All it is is a two tablespoons of salt to one quart of water, then 3 or 4 lightly crushed garlic cloves, a chunk of dill. I cut off the flower end of the cucumber and then cut them into spears. Sterilized the jars and lids, then dropped the garlic and dill at the bottom and then packed the cut up cucumber in, poured the brine on and then sealed the jars. They were left to ferment for anywhere from 5 to 10 days. I sampled during the process. I prefer them to go longer – they get slightly more sour.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gut bacteria key to weight loss

Leave a Reply

