Going down the natural path

I realized something. In my quest for culinary adventure one thing has stood out among all. Using natural ingredients to create really tasty stuff. 

For example – I tend to use exclusively unbleached all purpose flour now. It’s pretty easy to come by, even the local Price Rite carries Gold Medal Unbleached. 

I’ve always loved baking and roasting anyhow. I’ve done Ciabatta bread, banana bread, cranberry orange bread, cheddar biscuits, corn bread, cookies, etc. I’ve also done Strawberry Cake, Peach Upside Down Cake, and my favorite, the Blueberry Crumble. 

Plus I’ve gotten into pickling. First try was with pickled cucumber aka pickles. All natural, just a brine, garlic and dill. Next into the fray was pickled peppers – this one saw 1/3 cup white vinegar added to the brine. And now that I’ve done the pepper I was thinking, maybe I should throw in some garlic and red pepper flakes just for a kick. 

It’s fun using new and different techniques for pickling, bringing, etc. I want to naturally ferment some broccoli and cauliflower too. Maybe some carrots in there too. It’s easy to do too – just make a brine of 2 tablespoons of salt per quart of water. Boil it up. Then sterilize jars and lids – pack jars with veggie of your choice and then pour brine in. Let nature ferment it, turn it a little sour and delicious. 

3 thoughts on “Going down the natural path

    1. Oh and if you want – learn how to do some basic Asian dishes. Beef or Chicken and Broccoli is easy. So too fried rice, General Tsao’s Chicken etc. The key to Asian food – preparation.

Leave a Reply

