Rescuing Windows Boxes

So a friend was having major issues with his Dell Studio 1535 machine. To the point where he gave it to me and I told him I’d try to rescue the data on it. 

First thing – must haves for rescues:

1) A bootable Knoppix disc or USB stick

2) An external hard drive to copy the data onto. 

 

Just boot up Knoppix, mount the hard drive on the computer and then mount the external hard drive. Begin copying. Done. Now you can hose the machine and either re-install Windows on it or do what I’m going to do – I’m chucking Ubuntu on it. A Linux based laptop is exactly what I want. 

Leave a Reply

