Yet another reason to hate Cox Communications

Here I am, paying through the nose for phone, net and TV with HBO. So a cox mailer comes in and it says “Pay only $79.99 or more.” But here’s the kicker – I’m paying $15 a month for HBO (I checked an old bill from 7 years ago, it was $5 then!). But the package they are offering to new customers – INCLUDES free HBO for two years. Ut si!

And I found out something else – cox outbound SMTP – if you send a certain volume of email – it blocks port 25 for three hours. So no bulk mailing. Well you can, but you can get about 1,500 emails out in about an hours time, then you get shut off for three hours. So it now effectively takes 4 hours to do 1,500 emails – or if we extrapolate because I know we’re queuing up a little over 20,000 emails. 

But fortunately to the rescue – Bluehost has SSL secured tunnels to their SMTP side. Glory be!

It’s funny – I was asked what would it take to get Cox to allow bulk email for a political campaign? I’ll tell you, pay a few hundred a month for their business class service. And where the campaign is located there is NO choice – it’s Cox or nothing.

 

But like I said, we figured end run around that one.

It’s funny – but Cox has a devil may care attitude about it’s long time customers. Part of it is because they KNOW you’re locked in. In my case I’ve got a total of two choices – Cox or Verizon. And in my case I have a burning hatred of Verizon to begin with. But Cox doesn’t offer any customer loyalty bonus, nothing. They’ve been overcharging me for years. I think they owe me a little bit back.

Leave a Reply

