Dell Studio 15xx series random shutdowns

I’ve had this happen on the Studio 1535 I’m using. I had a suspicion it was heat related. Because anytime one of the vents was even partially blocked it’d randomly shut down. 

Now here’s another thing – this machine has the Nvidia video card in it. That baby consumes a fair amount of power plus it generates a pretty good amount of heat. 

Block any of the vents and poof – power off. I even watch the logs on the system and I see the CPU’s throttle back if they get a little too hot. 

So it’s a feature – not a bug per se. Yeah and I’ve seen this behavior in any system that runs hot. Got to keep the vents free from obstruction if you want a reliable system – keep those vents clear! 

 

Leave a Reply

