Drive: 2015 Volkswagen Golf TSi

So as you well know I’m a big Zipcar user. One of the things I like about it is I get to drive the latest versions of all sorts of makes and models.

Today it was a brand new 2015 Volkswagen Golf Tsi. Let me put forth that I love German engineering. I’ve driven Volkswagens and BMW vehicles and have to say, they have that OOMPH on the highways.

The Golf I drove today was bright red. Looked good on the car. And it’s actually a small car so handling is lively.

The TSi is a feature pack I think. Power everything and in the middle of the dash was a big screen for the media. The bluetooth implementation met with my approval too. Intuitive too.

Now one thing that baffled us for a short time was how to get the hatch open. Most cars there’s a lever or button near the drivers side that will pop open a trunk lid or hatch. No such on this Volkswagen.

I go to the rear of the car – search around for the ubiquitous button found under the trunk of hatch lid on other cars. No dice.

Then I noticed the VW emblem on the back seemed loose – so I pushed in at the top and wonder of wonders it hinged inward. Then grab the bottom edge and pull the hatch up. So simple even an idiot could figure it. Me with oodles of I.T. experience had to probe it and figure it out. Ah well.

Fun car to drive – very lively on the road. There was one part that had me doing 90MPH in the left lane and it barely moved the tachometer above 2K revs per second. Nice!

If my heart weren’t so set on a BMW X3 of my own I’d definitely consider a Golf.

Leave a Reply

