Wherein Volkswagen gets it wrong

So I really like the VW Golf. All I’ve driven so far is the TSi but I want a TDI. They’re reasonable sized, hatchback and get pretty damned good gas mileage. For example I drove from Providence, RI to Cambridge, MA and back today. The gas needle barely used 1/4 tank. That’s pretty fucking good.

However there is one thing that Volkswagen did that makes my blood boil a little bit. The only charging connector on the car is for an iPhone or iPod. Nothing like saying “fuck you” to more than half the universe of mobile devices and fail to put a USB port on the car. What is even more irksome is that iPhones and iPod’s and even iPads come with connector cables that have a USB plug on one end. What the ever loving hell were Volkswagen engineers thinking?

I’m the handy type and I’m pretty sure at least two pins on that connector are +5V and ground. So I’d cut the fucking iPod connector off and wire my own god damned USB connector on.

Leave a Reply

