I must be in the mood to gripe today

First I heard about the fact that Mayor Elorza of Providence, RI wants to put 700 more parking meters in the city – but not Atwells Avenue – oh no, they’ll put them on Broadway and Westminster St. I shot an email to my city councilor, state representative and senator that basically said get the school budget under control and start tagging for quality of life issues like boorish driving. Boorish includes blowing through crosswalks with people in said crosswalk, failure to signal, things like that.

And then I this evening I swiped my 15 ride pass on a RIPTA e-fare box and it worked. Then after I’d sat down I noticed person after person swipe their passes multiple times before the forces aligned and the e-fare box could finally read the card.

So I shot an email to RIPTA telling them they have to maintain the e-fare boxes. Clean and align the read heads for example.

I guess that old saw about the squeaky wheel holds true. If anything it can sometimes stop stupid ideas from getting out of the gate.

Leave a Reply

